Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Throughout this multimodal blog assignment I wanted to talk address the controversial topic of the “ideal” female body image through the lenses of a constructive worldview for my final research proposal study.

The research problem of my study has changed over the course of this project as I’ve gathered information from academic, social, and cultural articles on the trending topics and opinions that arise when people in modern society discuss female body image. Currently, I have developed this research question: how does body shaming affect the way women are perceived? And what is the current “ideal” female body image that causes this body shaming yet at the same time promotes body positivity?

I looked at various examples and studies about body shaming related to being fat such as Project Harpoon on Facebook and against being slim like the lyrics from songs by Meghan Trainor & Nicki Minaj. Also, the other spectrum of things body positivity through social media campaigns like #effyourbeautystandards, #catwalk contender, etc.

My research problem for my study is that even though I don’t believe that there is an “ideal” female body image right now that opinions may vary especially when it comes to open forums like social media where people share their negative opinions about others. This leads to many women being the victims of body shaming from their “friends” on Facebook. It also leads to suicides, anorexia, bulimia, and overeating.

My research study is going to be mixed methods because it is a combination of qualitative and quantitative methods used to generate results and apply a new theory to the “ideal” female body image. This is shown in my blog post about surveying and the importance of ethics behind data analysis, collection, and interpretation.

When I first started my research for each blog post I found myself referring to the textbook, as well as, PowerPoint slides provided by the professor. I really enjoyed going through the points of struggling with understanding values and importance behind every single thing we do because I feel like I learned in this way and actually applied knowledge to the potential of a real life situation in what it takes to do a research study and how to write a proposal.

It’s been an awesome semester and I feel like I’ve excelled academically as a scholar of social media, communication, and research. I can’t wait to see what next semester has to bring.

Have a great end to your year and Happy Holidays on an early note!!

Thanks again for reading! 🙂